Banana bread cake pops

Once again the last few bananas in my house have been neglected. Fortunately for me I had the good sense to prolong its brown yellow life in the fridge and bake banana bread cake pops. These were inspired by my friend Nicole who told me this long ago when I made the carrot cake pops.

Banana Bread Cake Pops
Recipe for Banana Bread
When I made the banana bread this time I left out the butter because as I mentioned in the previous post the banana and yogurt makes up for the lack of butter.
Put 1/2 cup of chocolate instead of 3/4 cups since the coating of the cake pop would be chocolate.
Substituted 1/2 cup of flour for 1/2 cup of ground flaxseed.
You can feel less guilty eating this cake pop or bread.
DSC_3887
Crumbly banana chocolaty goodness.
DSC_3889
Cake pops all made.
DSC_3894
Cake pops ready for chocolate covering. I had were a few pieces of Hershey bar chocolate in the kitchen.
DSC_3897
Time for the chocolate.
DSC_3903
All done and ready to eat!

Cake pop assembly
After letting it cool for a while, crumble the banana bread in a bowl with your hands or fork or both.
The banana bread has already a binding component from the mushy bananas, when you get to this point you will see, so you don’t need add any type of frosting or binding agent.
Make the cake pops into the size of a ping pong ball or a tad smaller and place the lollipop sticks inside the cake balls. (I advise you to cut the lollipop sticks in half since I think they are too long)
Place the cake pops on a baking tray, lined with aluminum foil or parchment paper, and put them in the freezer for 15 mins or refrigerator for 30 mins or less since the cake pops have the mushy banana binding.
Melt the chocolate in the a double boiler or microwave it in 20 second increments. Watch the chocolate, especially in the microwave, so you don’t dry out the chocolate.
Take the cake pops out and start to cover them in the chocolate and place them back on the baking tray.
When you are done with that, place the cake pops back in freezer or fridge to harden the chocolate. After the wait then you can eat it!

2 thoughts on “Banana bread cake pops

  1. Pingback: Banana Almond Chocolate Bread | Recipes for a Healthy You

  2. Pingback: Chocolate Banana Bread | Happenings on the Hill

Leave a comment